If you do qualify, you may make your request for dismissal providing ALL of the following requirements are met:
- You provide WRITTEN NOTICE of your request to the Court ON OR BEFORE the appearance date shown on your citation.
- You have not used this option during the last 12 months
- You are not currently using this option for another citation
- You have a valid Texas Driver’s License
- You provide the Court with proof of financial responsibility that complies with state law. (This is usually liability insurance.)
If you meet all these requirements you must:
- Fill out the Drivers Safety Course portion of your reply letter
- Send that form, a money order or cashier's check (do not send cash in the mail) in the amount of $107 ($132 for a school zone) for court costs, proof of financial responsiblity, and a copy of your drivers license to the court to arrive on or before your court date.
- You will be sent a notice of the date the course must be completed.
- Upon completion of the course you must sign the Court Copy and send it to us by the due date along with a copy of your driving record*.
The Driving Safety Court Fee is $107 ($132 for a school zone). This does not include the cost of the course or your state issued driving record.
Courses are offered at a variety of locations including the Internet. Only State of Texas approved courses will be accepted by the Court. To find a state approved course you can go online to the Region XIII Education Service Center.
If you cannot verify that you qualify for the Driving Safety Course you will be required to pay the fine for the offense and your offense will be considered as a conviction on your driving record.
*You must request a copy of your driving record directly from the Texas State Department of Public Safety website at www.texasonline.com.